Loading Events

Events

Find Events

Event Views Navigation

February 2022

During a three-day ICAP Workshop on 'Challenges and Opportunities for Carbon Pricing in Africa: The Transition from Crediting to Conformity Markets', participants will get a comprehensive overview of the current developments in the Carbon Market in Africa.

November 2021

Stephan Hoch introduced the panel, which focused on providing a comprehensive overview of Senegal’s NDC and the role of carbon markets and climate finance. Panelists spoke about past carbon finance projects in Senegal, the role of the GCF and ASEA, and the work of Climate Finance Innovators project.

September 2021

The event provides a comprehensive overview of East Africa’s existing carbon market portfolio (CDM, voluntary carbon standards, and Article 6 pilots) and provide an outlook on how to transition to Article 6. Key experts will engage with the audience in an interactive manner through polls, questions and discussions throughout the event.

May 2021

Workshop for Climate Innovation Series 27 May 2021, 9.30AM EDT / 1.30PM GMT / 3.30PM CET / 4.30PM EAT Recording of the session Summary The webinar presented the recently released carbon market profiles of the Eastern Africa Alliance on Carbon Markets and Climate Finance. The Alliance member countries (Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda) have successfully registered a total of 465 Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) activities, being over 50 Project Activities (PAs) and 50 plus Programmes of Activtities…

In 2021, countries are expected to increase ambition by updating their NDC targets, as they enter their first year of NDC implementation. Looking at this experience, it becomes clear that the conditionality of NDC targets is a crucial feature, in particular for international support through Article 6 carbon markets. However, how to apply conditionality is not clearly defined in the UNFCCC rulebook and a lack of conceptual clarity opens space for different applications in NDCs, with potential consequences for access to Article 6 cooperative approaches.

+ Export Events